India announces hockey squads for Rio Olympics
| 13 Jul 2016
| Vidya Shankar Tiwari, Editor, NOP

New Observer Post
New Delhi, Jul 13 Indian men, who have won 8 Olympic gold medals, have had poor performances at the Games since 1984. In the last edition in London 2012, they finished 12th. In this year's Games, India are grouped (B) with Argentina, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Netherlands. The Indian women are also in Pool B along with Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Japan and United States. Ritu had left the national camp in Bengaluru after being told about her non-selection for Olympics in Brazil. "It's correct Ritu is not in the Olympic team. Her exclusion is solely on two counts - her (poor) performance and second is her attitude," a senior member of the team management had told news agency on July 10. Full Indian Men's squad for Rio Olympics Goalkeepers - Parattu Sreejesh Ravindran
Defenders - Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh Khadengbam, Surender Kumar, Vokkaliga Ramchandra Raghunath Midfielders - Manpreet Singh, Sardara Singh, Sannuvanda Kushalappa Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devinder Walmiki, Chinglensana Singh Forwards - Akashdeep Singh, Somwarpet Vittalacharya Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah
Standby - Vikas Dahiya, Pardeep Mor
-Agency Input

Browse By Tags

New Observer Post. All right reserved. 2016-2017